International Council

Global nature of the council

The International Council’s members are a global representation of prominent experts in Ophthalmology and Artificial intelligence. They represent 15 countries located on 5 continents.

Composition of the international council

Andrzej Grzybowski, MD, PhD, MBA, MAE

Professor of Ophthalmology
Chair of Ophthalmology, University of Warmia and Mazury, Olsztyn, Poland
Head of the Institute for Research in Ophthalmology

Lama Al-Aswad, MD, MPH

Professor of Ophthalmology

NYU Langone Health, New York

Jorge L. Alió, MD, PhD, FEBOphth

Professor and Chairman of Ophthalmology Founder Vissum Miranza

University of Alicante

Renato Ambrósio, MD, PhD


Deferral University of the state of Rio de Janeiro

Sally Baxter, MD, MSC

Assistant Professor

University of California San Diego

J. Peter Campbell, MD, MPH


Oregon Health & Science University

Rene Cano, MD

Former Chairmain

Instituto de Oftalmologia Conde De Valenciana

Béatrice Cochener – Lamard, MD, PHD


Laboratoire de Traitement de l’Information Médicale, Brest

Catherine Creuzot – Garcher, md, phd

Professor, Head of department

Department of ophthalmology, CHU Dijon

C. Gustavo De Morales, MD, PHD, MPH

Associate Professor of Ophthalmology

Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Alastair Denniston, MB, BChir, FRCOphth, MRCP, PhD

Consultant Ophthalmologist/Hon Professor

University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust/University of Birmingham

Damien Gatinel, MD, PHD

Head, Dept of Anterior Segment and Refractive Surgery

Rothschild Foundation Hospital

Ming He, MD

Professor Of Ophthalmic Epidemiology

University of Melbourne

D. Robert Iskander, PHD, DSC


Wroclaw University of Science and Technology

Dr Sheila John

Head of Teleophthalmology and E-Learning Department

Sankara Nethralaya a Unit of Medical Research Foundation

Ryo Kawasaki, MD, MPH, PhD


Artificial Intelligence Center for Medical Research and Application (AIM), Osaka University Hospital, Japan

Pearse Keane, MD, FRCOphth

Professor of Artificial Medical Intelligence

University College London (UCL) Institute of Ophthalmology

John Ladas, MD, PHD


Maryland Eye Consultants and Surgeons

T. Y. Alvin Liu, MD

Director of the Wilmer Precision Ophthalmology Center of Excellence

Wilmer Eye Institute, Johns Hopkins University

Anat Loewenstein, MD, MHA


Ophthalmology Division Tel Aviv Medical Center

Dan Milea, MD, PhD


Head, Visual Neuroscience Group

Singapore National Eye Centre

Sundaram Natarajan, MD, PHD

President and chief

Asia Pacific Ophthalmic Trauma Society.
Vitreo Retinal Services – Global, Agarwal Group of  eye Hospitals.

David E. Pelayes, MD, PHD


Buenos Aires University, Maimonides University

Pavel Rozsíval, MD, PhD, Prof, FEBO

Professor of Ophthalmology, Consultant

Charles University Prague, Dept. Ophthalmology, Teaching Hospital Hradec Kralove

Paisan Ruamviboonsuk, MD

Clinical Professor

Department of Ophthalmology, College of Medicine, Rangsit University

Jose-Alain Sahel, MD

Distinguished Professor and Chairman

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

leopold Schmetterer, PHD


Department of Clinical Pharmacology, Medical University of Vienna

Andreas Stahl, MD

Chair and Head of Ophthalmology

University Medicine Greifswald, Germany


Department of Ophthalmology

Second Affiliated Hospital, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China

Ningli Wang, MD, PHD

Professor, director

Beijing Tongren Eye Center, Beijing Institute of Ophthalmology

Federico Grave Wiechers, MD


Instituto de Oftalmología Fundación Conde de Valenciana

Tien Yin WONG, MD, PHD

Founding Head and Chair Professor

Tsinghua Medicine, Tsinghua University

Linda Zangwill, phd


University of California, San Diego

Xiulan Zhang, MD, PHD

Professor of Ophthalmology

Zhongshan Ophthalmic Center, Sun Yat-sen University


Director, Office of International Program Activities (OIPA)

Bethesda, MD USA